Building Diverse Bookshelves for Middle and High School Students

I haven’t written for my blog in quite some time! The sad reality of grad school is that you will most likely never have time to indulge in the things that are most enjoyable. I miss writing here, but I’m sure I’ll get back into the swing of things once I’ve graduated.

However, I digress.

In the next few months, I will be taking on a Middle School/High School English Language Arts Teaching Position. I’m very excited to begin teaching! Essentially, this means that I need to start bulking up my bookshelves sooner than later.

Therefore, I’m asking for suggestions! If you know of any age appropriate, diverse books written by POC that I could use in my classroom, I would love to hear about them!

Please leave a comment on this post, with any good book suggestions!

Thanks so much!

-Ashe

About Breshea A.

Author. Teacher. Poet. "The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." Eleanor Roosevelt.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Building Diverse Bookshelves for Middle and High School Students

  1. I am weirdly embarrassed at the fact that I can’t come up with anything. Ugh. I hope you can find lots of amazing books – if I do come across something I will get back to you! x

    Like

  2. I co-host a link-up for Diverse Children’s Books that might give you some ideas. Feel free to link up your own posts about diverse kid lit as well! You can find the link up here: http://pagesandmargins.wordpress.com/2016/04/16/diverse-childrens-books-link-up/. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

